The Romantics

This set of performances is generously sponsored in part by The Hoffmann Family.

Benjamin Simon, conductor
Sterling Elliott, cello [2015 Debut Artist and 2014 Sphinx Competition Winner]

Franz Schubert Arpeggione Sonata in A minor, D. 821 (arr. Klug)
Johannes Brahms String Quintet No. 1 in F major, Op. 88 (arr. Simon)


Fri, Apr 24 8pm
This performance is generously sponsored in part by Ken Hoffman & Jan Goldberg, and by Naomi Braun & Robert Newman in memory of Edgar Braun.
Calvary Presbyterian Church
2515 Fillmore St, San Francisco

Sat, Apr 25 8pm
First United Methodist Church
625 Hamilton Ave, Palo Alto

Sun, Apr 26 3pm
First Congregational Church
2345 Channing Way, Berkeley

Masterworks by the great Romantics Schubert and Brahms feature the virtuosic string players of the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra. Making his West Coast debut with these performances of Franz Schubert’s heart-wrenchingly beautiful “Arpeggione” Sonata is Sterling Elliott, a 14-year old cellist and honor student from Newport News, Virginia. Sterling is the 2014 junior division winner of the Sphinx Competition, organized by Sphinx—a Detroit-based nonprofit dedicated to transforming lives through the power of diversity in the arts. Johannes Brahms’ F major string quintet is a favorite of our musicians, so we’re expanding the quintet to 18 and letting all our wonderful players join in the fun!